EVOLVE or DIE: A Step-by-Step Guide to Minimalism

Ebube .E
3 min readApr 12, 2022

An intro about everything minimalism was shared in the previous post. However, one question remained unanswered: How does one actually achieve minimalism?

Before we begin, I want you to understand something very important. Value/intentionality = Minimalism. Nothing else, nothing else at all. It’s not just about being frugal or decluttering.

Now, let’s get back to the main point of this post. To be honest, everyone’s journey with minimalism is unique. In my case, my frugality simply made me too attached to my possessions, and I couldn’t let go of things even when they were no longer useful to me. It could be the same for you or it could not.

Whatever the case may be, I’ve compiled a list of points to help you get started on your minimalism journey.

Make a list of what you need to get rid of: As simple as this may appear, when it comes down to doing the work, you may lose all enthusiasm. You may begin to believe, “I have a lot of things I haven’t used in years, where do I begin?”

Worse, you may form an emotional attachment to something that was supposed to be discarded. As an example, consider myself. My spray bottle’s nozzle broke one-time. I could have thrown away the bottle or used it as a vase, but ‘Bob the Builder’ came to life within me. In an attempt to repair it, I obtained glue and tape. What exactly happened there? I spent more money attempting to repair something that couldn’t be fixed, at least not with my skills. Don’t let this happen to you.

Allow yourself plenty of time: Being a minimalist, like any other good thing, is difficult but extremely rewarding. If you’re just starting out on this journey, you don’t want to stress yourself out by trying to figure everything out all at once.

Sure, you may come to regret what you’ve spent your valuable time and money on, but the important thing is that you’re paying attention and making progress. Take me, for example; even at my level, I find it difficult to let go of my books, whether they are school texts or novels, even if I know I’ll never read them again (I actually still have custody of my textbooks, notes, and everything from my secondary school. Crazy right?) Although consciously, they are given away or resold.

Dim clutter, light value: I believe a common misconception about minimalism is that it entails getting rid of everything. I don’t think it’s necessary to do this. You don’t have to be obsessive about tidiness. Simply get rid of anything that serves no purpose.

You’re better than this

As an example, consider clothing. I kept my clothes that didn’t fit anymore in my closet, wistfully. I honestly believed I could lose some weight or shrink into the into a smaller size, but that wasn’t going to cut it. Eventually, I donated them to charity, and in exchange, I gained insight into contents of the my wardrobe.

Establish your priorities: As previously stated, being a minimalist isn’t solely about decluttering, but also about being intentional with your time, energy, whether physical or emotional, money, and everything else. It’s about living a meaningful life. For example, if you struggle to meet your daily goals, you might want to keep track of what you spend your time on. It’s fruitless being busy all day and not productive,

I believe it is undesirable for one to live abreast with capitalist consumerism. Why not evolve?

--

--

Ebube .E

Bringing you insights about programming, minimal living, psychology and mental health and everything in between